Skip to main content

Medical Deans advocates for sustainable and robust mechanisms to support health, medical education, training and research and works in collaboration with key organisations to develop policies relating to standards of medical education; medical education and training; and workforce shortages.

Medical Deans contributes to the following committees.

       Committee                                                                                                  Medical Deans Representative
Education Provider Reference Group    Professor Michelle Leech – Monash
Assessments Committee, Chair Professor Cheryl Jones – USYD, term ends Nov 2027
Council Member    Professor Richard Murray – JCU, term ends Nov 2024

  Ms Helen Craig  – MDANZ, observer    

Medical Schools Accreditation Committee (MedSAC)    Professor Inam Haq – USYD, term ends Nov 2024

  A/Professor Kylie Mansfield – Wollongong, term ends Nov 2026

  Professor Gary Rogers – Deakin,  term ends Nov 2027

Professor Anna Ryan – Melbourne, term ends Nov 2027

Prevocational Accreditation Committee (PreVAC)    Professor Stuart Carney – UQ, term ends 2024
Specialist Education Accreditation Committee (SEAC)    Professor Mark Gladman – Adelaide, term ends Nov 2023
Prevocational Framework Review – Stakeholder Reference Group    Professor Stuart Carney – UQ, term ends 2024
Prevocational Framework Review –  e-Portfolio specifications subgroup    Professor Jane Bleasel – Newcastle
Medical School Standards Review Working Group    Professor Kirsty Forrest – Bond
Australian Dept. Health 
Intellectual Disability Education and Training Expert Advisory Group    Professor Julian Archer – Griffith, term ends Dec 2023
 Medical Workforce Reform Advisory Committee (MWRAC)    Professor Richard Murray – JCU
National Medical Workforce Strategy Advisory Committee    Professor Richard Murray – JCU
Quality Use of Pathology Committee    Professor Peter Smith – UNSW, term ends 2025
Stakeholder Reference Group for the evaluation of the Stronger Rural Health Strategy    Professor Richard Murray – JCU, term ends Nov 2022
All Other 
The Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada  (AFMC) Planning Committee for the International Congress on Academic Medicine    Professor Kirsty Forrest – Bond, term ends 2023
Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges (CPMC)    Professor Michelle Leech AM – Monash

  Ms Helen Craig – MDANZ, observer

Group of Eight – Deans of Medical Schools’ liaison    Professor Michelle Leech – Monash

  Ms Helen Craig – MDANZ

Heart Research Institute (HRI) Board    Professor Andrew Boyle – Newcastle, term ends Apr 2024
Independent Hospitals and Aged Care Pricing Authority (IHACPA) Stakeholder Advisory Committee    Professor Clement Loy – MQ, term ends Dec 2028
International Council for Disability Inclusion in Medical Education    Dr Lise Mogensen – WSU, term ends 2024

Medical Board of Australia, Medical Training Survey Advisory Group – concluded 

Medical Board of Australia, Medical Training Survey Consultative Forum 

  Ms Helen Craig – MDANZ


  Professor Stuart Carney – UQ

National Doctors Health and Wellbeing Leadership Alliance (NLA) Executive Committee    Dr Jo Bishop 
The Royal Australasian College of Surgeons / Medical Deans Clinical Academic Pathways Working Group    Ms Helen Craig – MDANZ
Universities Australia: Health Professions Education Standing Group  Professor Kirsty Forrest – Bond  

Ms Helen Craig (observer) – MDANZ