2016 Medical Deans Annual Conference

12-14 October 2016, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, Wollongong



UNIVERSITY OF WOLLONGONG AUSTRALIA



Thursday, 13 October 2016

Conference Programme

0830-0900	Registration
0900-0910	Welcome to Country
	Ms Jodi Edwards
0910-0915	President's Welcome
	Professor Nicholas Glasgow - President, Medical Deans
0915-0945	Opening Address
	Professor Alison Jones - Executive Dean, University of Wollongong Professor Paul Wellings - Vice Chancellor, University of Wollongong
0945-1040	Research Challenges: Funding, Impact and Supporting Clinical Academic Pathways
	Chair: Professor Michelle Leech - Deputy Dean, Monash University Speakers: Professor John Fraser - Dean, University of Auckland Mr Alan Singh - Executive Director, NHMRC Professor Timothy Marchant - Australian Council of Graduate Research
1040-1100	Morning Tea
1100-1145	Increasing the Number of Indigenous Doctors – Successes and Challenges
	Chair: Professor Alison Jones - Executive Dean, University of Wollongong Speakers: Dr Kali Hayward - President, Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association Professor Peter Crampton - Pro Vice Chancellor, University of Otago Professor Shaun Ewen - Director, Melbourne Poche Centre for Indigenous Health
1145-1230	Solutions to Medical Workforce Shortages in Regional and Rural Australia
	Chair: Professor Richard Murray - Dean, James Cook University Speakers: Dr Andrew Singer - Principal Medical Adviser, Department of Health Professor Amanda Barnard - Chair, Federation of Rural Australian Medical Educators Professor Richard Tarala - Chair, Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils
1230-1330	Lunch
1230-1330	UMAT Lunch Meeting – UMAT Members
1330-1400	Committee Update - Inherent Requirements
	Professor Ian Wilson – Associate Dean, University of Wollongong
1400-1445	<i>Current and Future Health Policy Challenges</i> Dr Stephen Duckett - Director, Health Program, Grattan Institute
1445-1500	Afternoon Tea
1500-1545 <i>Concurrent Streams</i>	 IHPA – the Development of a Teaching and Training classification Professor Brendan Crotty - Executive Dean, Deakin University Ms Jennifer Nobbs - Executive Director, Independent Hospital Pricing Authority MBA – Revalidation Professor Christine Bennett - Dean, University of Notre Dame Sydney Dr Joanne Katsoris - Executive Officer, AHPRA
1545-1630	Allan Carmichael Memorial Lecture – "Mating etiquette for health partnerships"
	Professor Nicholas Fisk - Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of New South Wales
1630	Close

Thursday 13 October Cont.

Innovation Campus Tour (Optional)

1700	Coach to Innovation Campus (Optional)
1715	Introduction to the Innovation Campus with walk through E1, pass ITAMS and Mike Codd concluding in iAccelerate foyer
	Speaker: Mr Chuck Stone, Director, Commercial Developments Unit
1730	iAccelerate Introduction and tour
	Speaker: Mr Omar Khalifa, Chief Operating Officer, iAccelerate
1755	AIIM Introduction and seminar
	Speaker: Mr Will Price , Executive Director, AIIM Mr Gordon Wallace , Director, Intelligent Polymer Research Institute
1820	Coach Departs for Annual Conference Dinner venue, Level One Harbourfront Restaurant

Annual Conference Dinner Venue: Level One Harbourfront Restaurant, Wollongong

1830	Arrive at Level One Harbourfront Restaurant
	Dinner Speaker: Mr Robyn Williams - Science Journalist and Broadcaster
2200	Walk back to Novotel

2016 Medical Deans Annual Conference

12-14 October 2016, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, Wollongong



UNIVERSITY OF WOLLONGONG AUSTRALIA



Friday, 14 October 2016

Conference Programme

0700-0815	GAMSAT Consortium Breakfast Meeting - GAMSAT members
0830-0900	Coffee/cakes on arrival and provided throughout the morning
0900-0945	Update from Fiji and PNG
	Chair: Professor Richard Murray - Dean, James Cook University Speakers: Professor Nakapi Tefuarani - Executive Dean, University of Papua New Guinea Dr William May – Acting Dean, Fiji National University
0945-1030	Engaging with Students - What do They Really Think?
	Chair: Professor Annemarie Hennessy - Dean, Western Sydney University Speakers: Ms Elise Buisson - President, Australian Medical Students' Association Ms Laura Hombsch - President, Wollongong University Medical Students' Society Mr Oliver Hovav - AMSA Representative, University of Wollongong
1030-1130	The Impact of Technology on Medical Education
	Chair: Professor Nicholas Glasgow - President, Medical Deans Speakers: Professor Ian Symonds - Dean, University of Adelaide Professor Paul Bannon - Co-Chair, RPA Institute of Academic Surgery
1130-1200	Final Comments
1200	Close and Lunch